Denny Abbey was founded in 1159 by Benedictine monks, as a dependant priory of the great cathedral monstery of Ely. At the heart of the Denny stands the medieval Franciscan refectory and the church. Adapted by the Templars, the church underwent radical alterations in 1327, evenutally becoming a farmhouse. Explore this lovely abbey still featuring superb Norman Interiors. At different times it housed Benedictine Monks, the Knights Templars and nuns of the Franciscan order, the Poor Clares. See the Franciscan nuns refectory of the mid 14th Century and the rooms converted for their founder, the Countess of Pembroke. Learn how Denny has evolved through the centuries with our displays and childrens activities.